On the Edge of a Morning

We are the music makers,

And we are the dreamers of dreams…

– Arthur O’Shaughnessy

Me on graduation day!

Me on graduation day!

Nine days ago I graduated from college and entered the phase that many would call “real life.”  Equipped with the many transferrable skills afforded me by my B.A. in English and moving back into my family home, I felt anything but ready to face the transition into this new period in my life.  For a little over a week, I was in a slump.  I sat in bed, played with my new iPhone, and developed a flirtatious relationship with insomnia.  Then, today, I woke up at 4 a.m. for no reason.  Something about the morning felt like freedom.

It’s not surprising that there’s pep back in my step.  After all, I’m a soldier of the cultural army known as Generation Y, the Millennials, the Echo Boomers, etc.  Raised with a rattle in one hand and a PalmPilot in the other, we Millennials rode the wave of the 90’s and entered the 2000’s with open minds and a collective desire to change the world.

It’s not lost on me that we got the perfect letter for our group; we are always asking “Why?”  Or, in today’s mobile text-speak that college English professors warm against, “Y?”  We are equal parts advancement, creativity, and rebellion.  We do not settle for yesterday’s answers, and we’re constantly searching for a way to solve tomorrow’s problems.  However, even the Millennials don’t have all the facts.

So on this bright morning of Tuesday, May 22, 2012, I enter to find the facts and bring them to you.  Fresh out of the experience of working for someone from my grandparents’ generation, I am well aware that there is a lot to be learned from the past and as much to be built for the future.  Armed with the skills, ideas, and opinions formed by my recent college experience, I hope to engage in spirited debate that leaves us all for the better.  Seeking a connection with the global community, I hope to reach new faces and places that I have never seen before.

I hope you’ll join me on this journey.  I don’t quite know where it will take us, but I’ve got a pretty good feeling about living this dream.

Leave a Reply

